Skip navigation
1 2 Previous Next 638 Views 18 Replies Latest reply: Apr 18, 2012 6:25 AM by KarenPeacock RSS
hhmis Apprentice 44 posts since
Jan 3, 2010

Has received 1 of 9 achievements.
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 13, 2012 9:02 AM

Return text value if Boolean is true or false

Greetings,

I'm trying to come up with a calculation for a stirng attribute that will detect if a boolean is true or false, then depending on which, it will return a text value of "yes" or "no". I think I'm close, but seem to be struggling getting it right. I'm fairly new to calculations, so don't laugh to hard at my attempt :

import System

static def GetAttributeValue(Request):

if Request._SystemAccessECW == 'True'
Value= "Yes"
return Value
if Request._SystemAccessECW == 'False'
Value= "No"

Thanks in adavance

• elizabethcombrink Employee 473 posts since
    Dec 19, 2008

Has received 6 of 9 achievements.
    1. Apr 13, 2012 9:46 AM (in response to hhmis)
    Re: Return text value if Boolean is true or false

Try this - make sure you keep the spaces as I've got them

import System
    Value = "Yes"
    if Request._SystemAccessECW == 'True':
      Value= "Yes"
    else:
      Value = "No"
    return Value

In Stu's guide to calculations, he mentions the Boo Primer which helps loads to get the syntax right!

• elizabethcombrink Employee 473 posts since
    Dec 19, 2008

3. Apr 13, 2012 10:03 AM (in response to hhmis)

1 space needed in lines 3, 4 and 6, and 2 spaces for line 5 and 7.

Home time for me.

• paul.enkelaar Expert 209 posts since
    Sep 5, 2010

5. Apr 15, 2012 4:53 PM (in response to hhmis)

Hi

It could just be how I am looking at it, but it looks like the last line is indented the same as the line above it.  Won't this mean that the only time that the "return" statement runs is when the "else" section is fired.  I think you may need to remove a space from the last line.

Cheers

Paul

• Expert 233 posts since
    Jan 27, 2009

Has received 7 of 9 achievements.