1335 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Apr 12, 2012 9:35 AM by ahe RSS
Rookie 4 posts since
Feb 23, 2012

Has received 1 of 9 achievements.
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 13, 2012 1:14 AM

Problem on distribution after update from 8.7 to 9.0

Hello to everibody

i'm new to Landesk 9.0, previously we have LDMS8.7 and i usually deploy Office 2010 with a Batch like this:

@echo off
tasklist /FI "IMAGENAME eq outlook.exe" 2>NUL | find /I /N "outlook.exe">NUL
if "%ERRORLEVEL%"=="0" taskkill /IM outlook.exe
msg * Ora procedo con l'aggiornamento di Outlook !
net use k: \\dia-pat01\landesk_packages
k:
cd off2010std
setup.exe /adminfile packages\myoutlook.msp
c:
net use k: /delete

so i close Outlook (in this case) if it's open and the i start installation from a network share. in old ldms8.7 i start the batch and after 3 or 4 seconds the install of Office 2010 start showing the user interface with settings contained in my msp file (so the only interaction with the user is showing the UI and progress bar only.

in this new version i see only the message "Ora procedo con l'aggiornamento di Outlook !", the network map is created and then "the darkness", the app run and run and run again.

i try to launch on a batch file and the task is completed in some minutes requesting no input from user.

why with old LDMS this task runs correctly and with the new version not ? and again : how is the best practice to install Office 2010 with transform files ?

PS deploying MSI file is much better than with the older version and runs without problems.

Roberto

• Employee 213 posts since
    Dec 12, 2007

Has received 6 of 9 achievements.

Hello,

you may try to have a look to this article that talks about Office 2007: may give you some ideas about 2010 as well:

http://community.landesk.com/support/docs/DOC-2126