6 Replies Latest reply: May 4, 2012 3:23 AM by Frank Wils RSS

Sysprep Windows 7 Activation Question

Hello everyone

I'm new to Sysprep and have been reading everything I can to get up to speed for Win7 image deployment using LDMS9 SP3 in a corporate environment.  So far, following the articles here, I've been able to capture and deploy a windows 7 image (but am working out some kinks).

One question that has come up involves Windows 7 Activation.  We use enterprise MAK licenses (not KMS or OEM licenses), so we have a total of 3 resets for Windows Activation.

For Windows XP, our process for updating our images has been to retain the hard drive we captured the image from so we can update it and recapture the image later (we use NewSID after deployment rather than Sysprep, which is why Sysprep is new to me).

However, it appears this process may not work for Windows 7 due to the reset limitation for Windows Activation.

What I have done as a test for Windows 7 is load the OS on a machine and install our additional required corporate software.  Then I ran Sysprep using OOBE and generalize.  Finally I captured the image, then deployed the image to another machine.

How do I update this image later without running out of activation resets?  Do I need to deploy the image to a machine, update it, then OOBE/generalize it and recapture it?  Will that work?  Is there a way to use the original image I captured (if I retain the hard drive)?

Thank you for all your help! 

• 1. Re: Sysprep Windows 7 Activation Question
          Frank Wils SSMMVPGroup

Easiest way probably is to use a Virtual Machine and snapshot it right before sysprep. That way you can restore to right before the re-arm and build on that.

Otherwise you can use run sysprep referencing an unattend.xml file with an entry telling sysprep to skip the re-arm,

for example: sysprep.exe /oobe /generalize /unattend:"c:\unattend.xml" /quit

This unattend.xml file should contain at least the following: